I Don’t Like Condoms on My Cheese: and several other things I have said and done

So I actually said that. I said in America we have too many condoms on our cheese and that French cheese is delicious. What I meant to say was that French cheese in America has preservatives in it….but in French “preservatif” means condom I apparently was supposed to say it is pasteurized. Oh well.

Last night I also said that I liked the sound of the sandwich the host dad was eating. Not sound like “that sounds good” sound like I could hear his sandwich. They find it amusing I find it extremely frustrating.

I tried these one of my first days and the family laughs at me because I keep asking if we can eat them again

I tried these one of my first days and the family laughs at me because I keep asking if we can eat them again

Also the traffic rules here are a bit different than they are in America. For instance, a yellow light doesn’t mean you can go through it. A yellow light apparently means that you need to stop immediately. As a result of not understanding this, I have run several red lights (once when Cassandre was in the car with me. Awesome.)

But I have also gotten to try things this first weekend that were crazy. The first day I got here I was so exhausted that I started speaking English in the car (which got me some odd looks since they don’t speak a lot of English). I tried this kind of gel thing in a cake pan that was basically everything left over from the pig….it was interesting. I also had “salad” which was made of pig cheek. It surprisingly was not that bad but since I knew it was pig cheek, it freaked me out a bit. I tried these things that are apparently a specialty here. It is fat. Literally fat in like a chip. It was so gross but I tried it just to see. Last night we had brioche with sausage in it which was super delicious.

The macaroons here are just fabulous and so is the cheese. It is really great because if I want to try something they let me try it so I literally get a taste of everything.

On to the wine. Okay so they own a winery with like thirty five other people. Which is school because only thirty five people in the country get wine from this winery. It is pretty good wine too. We have so far had three bottles of wine and a bottle of champagne. The white wine was from the winery they own. The other two were thirteen and fourteen years old. The one that was fourteen years old was absolutely amazing. I have this wine journal my friend Nicole gave me for my graduation that has really come in handy and I write down all of the wine I taste. They told me they will find me one that is a 10 and also I will probably need another journal.

Champagne from champagne. Checked off my Bucket List

Champagne from champagne. Checked off my Bucket List

The champagne was amazing. I told them a few days ago that I have a “bucket list” of things I want to do. On that list are going to Italy, skiing in the Alps, and drinking real champagne from Champagne (these are things we will be doing). I will post the list later but I actually got to drink said champagne. It was so good and they have a wine cabinet that has like 80 bottles of wine. Its insane.

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Like Condoms on My Cheese: and several other things I have said and done

  1. Just to be a bit pedantic though, your cheese may be pasteurized and not have preservatives in it. The translation of preservative is conservateur or agent de conservation, the translation of pasteurized is pasteurisé. Good luck with learning French, it is a language which seems to like nothing better than have no rules and when it has some you always have exceptions to the rules….

Leave a Reply

