As I Say Goodbye

As I write this it is a little more than a week to go before I hop on a plane back to where I am from, good old Perkasie, Pennsylvania. To be honest I am a bit conflicted about leaving so I wanted to write this to kind of sum up my experience and all that has happened.

I graduated university and had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do. I loved both my majors (PR and French) and I knew I wanted to go back and live in Europe and really improve my french. So I did. As I said in my last post, I feel like we all lose passion in our lives and I didn’t want to do that. Someone told me about au pairing and after Skyping with my host family, I made the fantastic albeit scary decision to get on a plane to a country I only barely knew to a family I didn’t know at all. It wasn’t easy and I hear people always saying “I wish I could do that”, and you can achieve anything if you work hard enough. I have always been so determined to do what I want to do. I am not sure where my path leads after this (and that is terrifying) but I am trying to just go along with it.

I have struggled a lot as well. I haves struggled a lot with my body issues because everyone here is so perfectly thin. Here is the thing though, I have curves and I may not be the skinniest like girl in a teeny weeny yellow polka dot bikini, but I have become comfortable with my self this year and that is a really big thing for me. As far as struggling in love, well sorry to disappoint but I am still single and ready to mingle (although my best friend is happy I am not coming home engaged haha). I found someone I like but that whole thing is messy and complicated and as they say in Frozen, I need to “let it go” after next week. However, I am strong and independent and spent a year in Europe seeing the world so I need someone who can keep up with all that anyway. For the ladies out there remember that you deserve the same and you should never settle for someone who doesn’t put you at the top of their list.

I have met some incredible people here who have shown me what I can be and have shown me when to see the best and worst in other people. I have people I can depend on and people I can have fun with. So thank you to everyone who has supported me through all this. Whether I have met you along my European journey or whether you were at home looking at all my pictures and reading my blog posts, you all have helped me and inspired me to continue to see the world in any way that I can. I love knowing that there are people all around me who I can turn to.

A special shout out to my parents who have really helped make this possible. I started my travel journey at the age of 16. I remember BEGGING my parents every day for weeks to go on a trip to France. The first words I said when I landed back in the U.S. after that trip was “I’m going back” and I am nothing if not determined. So thank you for letting me travel the U.S. from Tennessee to Chicago to France and beyond. I don’t think either of you will ever realize how thankful I am that you let me chase the dreams that I have. A bit mushy I know, and I promise you can put your tissues away soon. Just look below please at the video and the pictures as a shout out to my parents and to all of you who have helped me along this journey. Thank you.

 

Pérouges, France (Thank you)

Pérouges, France 

Barcelona, Spain (Mom)

Barcelona, Spain 

Ceyzariat (And)

Ceyzariat 

Coupe de la Ligue game Paris, France (Dad)

Coupe de la Ligue game Paris, France 

Dublin, Ireland (for)

Dublin, Ireland 

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland (giving)

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland 

Lyon, France

Lyon, France

I have taken these pictures in several cities. All together, the signs say “Thank you mom and dad for giving me the world” !

Thank you again to everyone! Take a look at the video below 🙂

http://studio.stupeflix.com/v/oozTEXOLuhpB/

2 thoughts on “As I Say Goodbye

  1. Colleen you almost made me cry… I’m so happy I get to know you in Lock Haven, and I know I will see you again, and again, and again. I wich I could have seen you more this year. You’re one of the strongest woman I know, never let anyone make you doubt about yourself. You’re clever, beautiful, fearless and you are, by far, the most French American woman i’ve met. I love you chouchou and It’s not goodbye, it’s see you later. ❤

    • I love you so much my chou ❤ I am so glad we have stayed friends and I know I will see you again because we have such a good friendship. I miss you so much! thank you so much for saying that

Leave a Reply

